LEGO Universe Free to Play is NOW AVAILABLE!

UPDATE: Experiencing problems? Try these direct download links!
LEGO Universe for Mac OS X
LEGO Universe for PC

Great news, fellow explorers!

The Free Trial for LEGO Universe is now available! Mac or PC, young or old, rich or not-so-rich, ANYONE can download the game and give it a whirl in the first two zones of the Universe, which – by the way – were expanded to keep things interesting!

20110809-105039.jpg

Instructions:

1. Click here to download LEGO Universe.
2. Once the game is downloaded, it should be available on your Desktop, or in the area you specified. Open the installer and follow the steps to install the game.
3. Once the game is finished installing, you should see a shortcut to LEGO Universe either on your Desktop or within your Applications folder. Double click it to start the program.
4. The program that appears is known as the Patcher. It will start downloading the contents of the game, but in the meantime you’ll want to activate the game!
• If you already have a LEGO.com account, simply enter your account details into the Username and Password fields within the window and click activate. Once you have done that, you’re all set – just allow the game to complete the download process and you’ll be blasting off to the Universe in no time!
• If you DON’T have a LEGO.com account, don’t worry! Making a new account couldn’t be easier, and can be done directly from within the Patcher! If you wish to make a new account, simply click the button that says “Sign Up” and you will be taken to a signup page. Simply enter the Username and Password you wish to use, as well as your birthday (don’t worry, if your parents don’t allow you to enter your real one, you can discuss with them about using a not-so-real one ;)). Once you have entered all of this, you will see a button that says “Confirm Birthday” – simply click this and you will be taken to the next step in the process. All that is required at this point is your email (if you don’t want to use your real one, you can create one here if you have your parents’ permission) and your acceptance of the LEGO.com Terms of Service. Once you have done this, all that’s left is to click “Activate”, and you’re “in like Flynn”, as they say. :P

5. Enjoy the game! Once you have done all this and once the game has finished downloading, you are ready to enter the Universe! Please note that without a paid membership, you will only have access to The Venture Explorer – which you can only visit once, so make the most of it! – and Avant Gardens. You will also be restricted in a few other areas, such as chatting and a 10,000 coin limit. But don’t worry, I’m sure you’ll still have a blast – you’ll have a lot more than I did when Beta hit day one!

IMPORTANT NOTE!
Free to Play accounts are NOT allowed to receive or use the Beta Tester shirt. Only paid members can obtain the item. In addition, Customer Support does NOT provide item-related support for Free Trial players.

——–

If you want to experience the entire Universe, you can buy a membership over at LEGOUniverse.com – it only costs $10/mo!* Alternatively, however, you can enter my Free Trial Celebration Contest for the chance to win a FREE month of all-access membership! (Please ask your parents for permission before entering!)

See you in the Universe, explorers!

LegoFan101~

*Price differs from country to country, and may or may not be available in all countries. 6-Month and 12-Month memberships are also available at varying prices. Purchase of a subscription will automatically draft your credit or debit card each month – if you want to buy only month alone, you must purchase a game card! For full details and information, click here (Game Cards) or click here (Subscription)!

15 thoughts on “LEGO Universe Free to Play is NOW AVAILABLE!

  1. I can’t install this either, once I have downloaded the program I get invalid directory for installation!!!! I’m not a computer novice but i can’t get this to work at all!!!!

  2. trying over and over. cannot download! and, no, I am not a computer idiot. I can’t get the program to load into any folder…..tried 1/2 dozen options to no avail.
    Any ideas?

  3. Thank you LegoFan101~! I will try your recs. Now that you mention it, I have had firewall problems in the past, so that may be it, though I had no problems in Beta. I’ve already tried the Full Download and reinstallation tricks to no avail. I suspected that FtP might not have support (and rightfully so), it’s just that I didn’t see any notice about this anywhere, so I thought I’d give it a try. If I can’t get it working, I’ll simply sign up for a paid membership, then open a Customer Support Ticket. I appreciate the offer to try to work it out for me, but that certainly goes above and beyond and is not necessary. Thanks again for the super-quick response–you rock!

  4. I was a Beta Tester, and loved the game, but my nephews weren’t old enough to play. Now they are, and I re-installed LEGO Universe to use Free to Play so I can show it to them to see if they would like to play it. It installed, I can created a minifig, but then when I click Play I end up stuck on a black screen with white lettering that says:

    “PRESENT DAY
    STARSHIP: Venture Explorer
    DESTINATION: Nimbus Station
    OBJECTIVE: Transport of Nexus Force Recruits”

    The cursor is the orange arrow that I can move around, but there is nothing to click on.

    I sent in a help request twice, but the ticket was closed with no response. I will always be a LEGO fan, but I guess I’ll have to stick with the blocks and not the MMOG if I can’t get FtP to work.

    Please help. Thank you.

    • Hi!

      First off, what you are seeing is simply a new, “fancy” loading screen for the Venture Explorer. It is only the page that displays the one time you are visiting the VE for the first time.

      I would guess – though I don’t know for sure – that the issue is either Internet or firewall-related. So here is what I suggest:

      - Check your firewall and ensure that it is not getting in the way of your client’s connection to the server.
      - Make sure that your Internet is functioning correctly in all aspects.
      - From the Patcher, select “Options” and try to change “Download as you Play/Download Online” to “Full Download”. This will download a bit more than usual but may assist you in getting past the loading screen.
      - If all else fails, attempt a complete reinstallation of the game.

      As for the Customer Support ticket, I’m afraid I have to inform you that LEGO Universe and their corresponding selection of CS representatives cannot handle the massive amount of users outside of those who are paid members, and therefore no support is given to you unless you are using a membership-enabled account. Which would probably explain the unanswered, closed ticket. ;)

      If you would like, you could give me your computer’s specs and I *might* be able to open a ticket on my account and forward the solution to you if the solution I have given does not suffice. :)

      Please let me know if you need any further assistance, or if you encounter success. :)

      LegoFan101~

  5. All i get is constant runtime errors before i even get to move my mouse over to the download button! Make a direct download ON A PAGE THAT IS NOT THAT!

Discuss The News!

